Layla, Dog, Dalmatian (short coat)

The file could not be created.

To Adopt this pet, please click here for more details:

Dalmatian (short coat)
Primary Breed: 
Home with dogs: 
Home with kids: 
House Trained: 
Vaccinations Up to Date: 
White with Black
Coat Length: 
We restrict our adoption area to Maryland, DC, and Virginia. If you are on the boarder of Maryland or Virginia, please apply--decisions will be made on a case-by-case basis. Hello, my name is Layla and I am a pretty, spayed, female, purebred Dalmatian. I am between 8-10 years old and a very happy, well-behaved girl with a wonderful personality. I was in a West Virginia shelter when foster mommy first met me and came to visit with me. She brought me treats which I loved and took me for a nice walk where I showed her that I was leash trained and very friendly. After that, I laid down next to her on the blanket she brought while she spoke to the animal control officer about my history. The animal control officer found me running around when she was out on another call and when the animal control officer attempted to find my guardians, it turned out I was a product of a divorce and was no longer wanted. When my time was running out at the shelter, foster mommy came and took me home (November 2nd, 2008). Foster mommy was a little worried because she had two aging alpha females at home, but had a feeling I would fit in just fine. So far, everything has been going really well and I am enjoying my foster home! After a vet visit to make sure I did not have any parasites or worms (which thankfully I did not), to update all my shots, get a thorough exam, and get me on heartworm and flea and tick preventative, I settled in to my new temporary home. I had a big first week, because I had to go back to the vet to get a serious dental procedure done where I needed three teeth pulled. I also had an X-ray of my heart before the procedure because the vet heard a slight heart murmur, but my heart was not enlarged so everything was good there and the vet office took excellent care of me and told me what a good girl I was. Even though that was a lot, I feel so much better now. I also received a bath and stood there like a little lady while I got bathed, that also felt good! For a gal entering my golden years, I am pretty healthy! The rest of my foster family includes a 7 year old energetic little boy who I like to hang out with outside when he plays soccer in the yard (he also helped with my bath), foster mommy, foster daddy, another laid back male Dalmatian, and Ed (also on the web page). I have fit right in and can be seen frequently carrying around a tennis ball in my mouth... Just in case someone wants to play with me! I also like to chew on that, but foster mommy was worried I would choke so she brought me home a really big tennis ball shaped like a football that says Kong on it. All I know is that is great and very strong!! I enjoy my time outside, but then will take my naps on my bed in the house and am content to lie at my foster family's feet or nearby. I am not destructive when I am left alone and enjoy taking a nap so I am ready when everyone comes back home!! When they come home, I do spins outside and will roll and roll around in the grass. I am so happy to see everyone and to get my dinner. At night, I sleep on one of the dog beds upstairs and have settled into the daily routine of the house quickly and easily. I also am not shy of strangers and have not really barked hardly at all. If you think, I would be a match for your family, I would love to meet you! Please fill out an application with my name on it! 11/21/08 For information on any of our other great dogs, please see our web page at You can learn all about us and our procedures for adoption. To fill out a no-obligation, on-line application, please go to our web page,, and click on the 'Application' button at the top of the page.